Sunday, December 12, 2010

Foodie Review: Casablanca (Billerica)

Picked on a hunch, we decided to go on a Friday evening to this new Mexicano/Latino place we always see passing by but never entered. The ambiance readily reminded us of an Argentinian lunch dates Garima and I had on our last trip to Miami. Big arches, colorful and tasteful decor; amigo music... all conforming to a "Casablancan" theme of course. The sports bar is setup well but away from the main focal point of the area. At the fist glance, looks like a great place for a 2nd date. Add to that a theme purposefully devised comprising of beautiful waitresses, who at any given day, may be mistaken for famous models or Spanish channel soap opera stars. I swear on the awesome guacamole dip I had, that I saw Salma Hayek waiting tables.

On the eateries side of things, the nachos were served with mild Salsa in a small wine flask. Very cutely done. Garima ordered Pollo a la Crema and it was very well done passing the test of melting-in-the-mouth tenderness. Very aptly spiced too. On my plate was Shrimp Casablanca with of course Sautéed shrimp on a bed of brown rice, jack cheese and mixed with well sized peppers and onions. Spiced perfectly again.

And did I mention the Mango margarita!! One of the handful of places that I have seen diverting from serving the drink in a traditional margarita glass but with perfect square ice cubes. The drink had proper texture and a balanced spike to it.

All items were prepared and served much better than by those everyday super noisy border cafes and cafes on the border and what not....and of course in a much classier way.

My take: Will surely go back again...

Next: Plan on picking something from Best of Boston. I relate better to the pictures and also get to know the 2nd best option.

No comments: